RSS Feed

Aunt Aggie’s White Cake

My sister-in-law, Kathy, made the best white cake. Kathy is married to my oldest brother Ralph, who is 16 years older than I am.  Kathy and her siblings lost both parents at a young age.  She and a couple of them came to live in Blaine, out in the country with an older couple, Romie and Agnes Pendergast,  who were somewhat disabled.  I guess kids were seen as good company and help. This recipe comes from “Aunt Aggie” and it is written in Kathy’s handwriting.  This cake was the one her kids always requested for birthdays and special occasions.

I can’t help thinking that because the instructions say “beat hard”, there probably wasn’t any electric mixer or maybe not even an egg beater involved.  I believe that when Kathy and Ralph came back to the farm after his service in Korea, they lived on the “Pendergast Place”, the home where she lived with Aunt Aggie.  Did they even have electricity?  I don’t think so!  I can’t say that I’ve ever made this recipe.  Guess I’ll need to put that on my “to do” list!

Aunt Aggie’s White Cake

1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup butter (or 1 stick oleo)
2 1/2 cups flour
1 cup cold water
4 egg whites
1/2 tsp. salt
3 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. vanilla

Cream butter and sugar.  Add flour and water alternately.  Then beat hard.

Add stiffly beaten egg whites in which salt and baking powder have been added.  Add vanilla and bake at 350⁰ for 30 minutes.

 

2 responses »

  1. I use this recipe still! Everyone likes it! By the way, it was Uncle Arthur and Aunt Aggie (Pendergast) who adopted Kathleen. Arthur died early on(fell down the stairs) and then Uncle Johnnie came to live with Aunt Aggie and Kathy. Aunt Aggie died when Kathy was in high school,so Johnnie took over responsibilites…. and then Kathy looked after Uncle Johnnie even after Ralph and Kathy were married. (Romie and Agnes Pendergast were neighbors…with a daughter Margaret)

    Reply
  2. It took me awhile of thinking and thinking what his name was and I came up with Romie. It didn’t feel right, but I went with it. I didn’t know about Arthur Pendergast. I believe I had met Johnnie, but never Aggie. If she died while Kathy was in high school, that explains why. I wasn’t born yet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

