RSS Feed

Chicken Salad

Yum!  I just had chicken salad for lunch.  This article is more like a discussion about it.  This lady was making a lot of chicken salad in her batches.  Also, I find it interesting that the dressing is called just “boiled dressing”.  Probably you wouldn’t actually buy mayonnaise if you were a thrifty person, and possibly “Miracle Whip” wasn’t on the market yet.

Then another subject that was brought up not too long ago was chicken salad, I believe.  It you really want to make a little chicken go a long way, as for a church supper or some occasion when chicken is scarce or high, you can add a good many ingredients and still call it chicken salad.

For Instance:  Boil a six pound chicken till tender, cut the meat into small pieces,

Measure and use an equal amount each of diced boiled potatoes and celery
6  hard-boiled eggs, chopped
1 large onion, cut fine
3 cupfuls of sweet pickles, cut fine, and
4 pimentos cut fine.

Fold some whipped cream into your favorite boiled salad dressing and mix with the chicken mixture.  This is all the better if it is kept in the refrigerator a couple of hours before serving.  Used this way, one six-ounce fowl will make 36 servings.

But if you are not aiming to make the chicken go as far as all that, I like to use with the meat from a six pound chicken:

2 cups of cooked peas
2 cups diced celery, and
1 cup nut meats

I like a boiled dressing with chicken salad, and prefer to make my own, and then mix it with some whipped cream.  You can grind the chicken through a coarse plate, but I prefer just to cut it up pretty small.

I make the dressing of

2 eggs or 4 egg yolks beaten with
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground mustard
6 tablespoons vinegar
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup of liquor from cooking the chicken, and
1 tablespoonful flour,

Cooked together till done.

And then sometimes I just mix the chicken meat with celery, half as much celery as meat, that is, if I take 2 cups diced celery and 1 cup nut chopped celery, and season with salt and mix with the salad dressing.  (I think there’s a typo here, don’t you?  I think they mean 2 cups diced chicken to 1 cup chopped celery)

Once I made some very pretty salads for an afternoon party by using this sort of chicken salad and cranberry sauce.  I sliced the sauce and made sort of a sandwich, one slice under and one slice over the chicken salad.  at that time I just used the sauce plain but I thought afterward that you could cut it into hearts for Valentine’s day or into turkey shapes for Thanksgiving, or just use a scalloped cooky cutter for the fun of it.

Here’s how I make chicken salad.  We baked a whole chicken earlier in the week and ate the legs, thighs and wings mostly.  It was a good size chicken, but probably not 6 pounds.  We had all the white meat left over.  I cut that up into cubes.  I added about 1/2 cup chopped celery and 3/4 cup of grapes. I had about a half cup of English Walnuts begging to be used, so I added them to the salad. I put in about 1/4 cup mayonnaise and half a container (3 oz. maybe) of plain Greek yogurt.  I sprinkled salt, pepper and sugar over it the way I do for tuna salad and potato salad generally. Mixed it all up and chilled.  As I said in the beginning….Yum!

Leave a Reply

