RSS Feed

Gum Drop Cookies

Mom definitely had a sweet truth, and I’m proud to say I inherited it and have passed it along to my daughter and hers.  She often brought home a sack of candy that we’d find among the groceries.  Groceries mostly came home in recycled boxes that the store received in their shipments.  Marshmallow Circus Peanuts might be found sometimes, and others it might be orange slices.  Mom didn’t favor pure chocolate candies; maybe some dipped in chocolate otherwise.  If there was a roll of lifesavers in the box, I knew she bought them just for me.

This recipe is for gum drop cookies, but I can’t say I ever liked them.  I just didn’t trust them.  Some might be fruit flavored, but too often they were spicy, maybe clove flavored and I really didn’t like them.  In my time, we found a recipe for orange slice cookies, and that recipe is one of my favorites.

Gum Drop Cookies

2 eggs, beaten
1 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons cold water
1 cup sifted flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 cup nutmeats
1 cup gum drops (no blacks) cut in small pieces and flour

Beat brown sugar into beaten eggs.  Add water. Add flour, salt, cinnamon and floured nutmeats.  Pour into 8 x 12 inch pan and bake in 350 degree oven 30 minutes.

The frosting should be ready when the cake is done. Blend 1 tablespoon melted butter, 1 tablespoon orange juice and a little rind, and about 1 cup powdered sugar.  Spread frosting.  Cool slightly and cut in squares.

Leave a Reply

