RSS Feed

Nebraska Ann’s Surprise

This clipping starts out with a cookie recipe, meanders on to a comment about a husband’s ulcer diet, but in the end it is a reprint of an earlier contribution for a one-bowl cake, correcting an error in the original article.  It ends with showing up a “kindly” neighbor….

Dear Hope: Here is my soft oatmeal date cookie recipe.  I hope “Lauretta” of Oklahoma will like it.

2 cups Oatmeal
2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 cup lard
1 cut chopped dates
1 cup nut meats
2 eggs
1 teaspoon soda in 1/2 cup sweet milk
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Mix oatmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, spices all together, blend in lard, then eggs.  Add liquid, nuts, dates.  Roll in palm of hands in balls size of walnut.  Make in moderate oven.

Sometimes I omit nuts, especially when my husband was on an ulcer diet.  He is cured now, but I still avoid feeding him the things that were omitted from  his diet, as much as possible.  A cure is also a preventive at times.

Last April my cream cake recipe was printed and since then I have received a few rebuffs from neighbors who read it, as well as one through the column because they thought the cake would not be light and fluffy because it was a one-bowl method cake with sugar added with flour. There was just one mistake in the printing:  it said beat 200 strokes or 2 minutes, while it should have been 500 strokes or 5 minutes.  so in case any are interested, I will re-write it with that correction:

2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 whole eggs
1/2 cup cream
1/2 cup milk
2 teaspoons baking powder.

Sift flour once, measure and to flour add sugar, salt, baking powder.  Sift again into mixing bowl.  Make a well in the mixture, pour in milk and cream, break in whole eggs, add vanilla.  Mix all together, beating till smooth and light, 500 strokes or 5 minutes.  Sugar will be dissolved and cake very light and fluffy.  Bake in moderate oven. (Variations as you like.)

One of my neighbors came in to my house for dinner and commented on my light fluffy cake.  She asked if I had read the cream cake recipe in Hope’s column from “Nebraska Ann”, saying, “I didn’t even try it out, for I know it would be tought”.  I asked her if she would call my cake tough, and she said, “Oh no, t was exceptionally light and fluffy.  She was very surprised when I told her it was made from the recipe from “Nebraska Ann” and it was I who sent it in.–Nebraska Ann.

Leave a Reply

