RSS Feed

Pizza

Pizza Hut originated in Wichita, KS around 1958.  My husband and I were dating in the early 60’s and one of our spots was the Pizza Hut in Aggieville near K-State in Manhattan.  We had pizza and beer, of course, but the legal age to drink beer (3.2% anyway) was 18, so I don’t think I’m setting a bad example if any grandkid happens to read this.  Anyway, in the rural areas, learning to make pizza would be a new thing.  Mozzarella cheese was likely not available at the grocery stores in our area, and who in the world even had a pizza pan in their kitchen?  Of course, recipes appeared in her regular newspapers, newsletters and magazines.  When I first made them, I bought a box that contained the pizza flour to mix up for the crust along with a can of pizza sauce.  Nowadays, we buy a pre-made pizza crust and add all our favorite toppings which may not include pizza sauce.  Anyway, my daughter’s eighth grade cooking class included a recipe for a biscuit like dough for the crust.  This recipe reminds me of it a bit.  It doesn’t include anything but the basics: cheese and sauce.  But you can put anything you want on a pizza, can’t you?

Pizza

Dear Hope:  I was interested in the pizza recipe sent in recently, and I dare say it is more nearly like the old country type than the one I use, but maybe someone would like to try my recipe, as it is so quick.  I use biscuit dough instead of yeast dough.  I usually make individual pies, but one could bake this in one, if preferred.  This is the amount I use for my husband and myself.

First I mix up the topping:
1 cup cooked tomatoes
About 4 tablespoons green pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
Dash of pepper
A little minced garlic.

I shred about 1/4 pound of sharp cheddar cheese, and melt some butter. Then I mix up my biscuit dough, using:

1 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoons shortening, and
1/2 teaspoon salt,
and make this into a soft dough with about 67 tablespoons of milk.  I happen to have two layer cake pans about 7 inches across which I use, but you can just pat the dough out in two circles about that size on a baking sheet, making a ridge around the edge to hold in the topping.  Or, as I say, you could bake it all in one pizza in a pan of suitable size and shape.  I brush the top surfaces with the melted butter and sprinkle a little cheese over, then spoon the tomato mixture over that and top with the rest of the cheese.  Bake in a hot oven about 15 minutes, then reduce the heat to moderate and cook about 15 minutes more. –Americana, Illinois.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

