RSS Feed

Potato Dumplings

I don’t remember ever having any kind of dumplings at home, so I was surprised when my oldest sister told us that she remembered Mom making them, as well as home-made noodles.  The first time I had potato dumplings was at a German restaurant south of St. Louis when my husband an I were on a motorcycle trip, sometime during the 70’s.  By then, I had learned to make Chicken and Noodles using my mother-in-law’s recipe, her hints and suggestions.  You could make either dumplings or noodles from the egg based dough.  You put them on top of mashed potatoes, but they weren’t made with mashed potatoes in them. 

I haven’t actually paid attention to this recipe before now, but I find the last paragraph rather intriguing…..dumplings with sauerkraut……maybe a polish sausage along with it?  I may try that sometime.

Potato Dumplings

I believe someone asked for a recipe for potato dumplings.  I make them by mixing about a cup and a half of cold mashed potatoes with an egg, a cup of milk (or cream, or mixed milk and cream, or even soup stock sometimes), and a cup or a little more of flour.  Season with a teaspoon of salt, add a teaspoon of baking powder, and sometimes I add a tablespoon of chopped parsley.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup mashed potatoes
1 egg
1 cup milk (or cream, half and half, or soup stock)
1 cup of flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon chopped parsley

Beat the potatoes, egg and liquid pretty thoroughly, then just stir the dry ingredients in until they are dampened.  Drop the dumplings by spoonfuls on your boiling broth, cover the kettle tightly and let steam eight or 10 minutes.

We like these with sauerkraut as well as with soup.  Add water to the sauerkraut and get it to a boil by the time the dumplings are ready to drop in.

Leave a Reply

