RSS Feed

24 Hour Salad

This looks like my handwriting.  The recipe on tablet paper was floating loose in the cookbook.  Mom often did that….clip something, stick the clipping in the cookbook meaning to glue it in some time later.

I put together a cookbook of my favorite recipes back in the late 1980’s for my son when he went to college.  Later, when lulu.com came about, I published “Aunt Mary’s Cooking Book” and this recipe was included it.  My comments at the time:  “We first were introduced to 24 hour salad when we were invited to some of the Strunk weddings (Francis’s family).  Mom thought this was about the most wonderful salad she’d ever had, and it was really a special one to fix for an occasion.”

The recipe in my cookbook wasn’t transcribed from this clipping, however.  The instructions in this one are rather vague as it doesn’t really indicate when to add the fruit and marshmallows.  I wouldn’t think the pecans would absorb any liquid or flavor, but I suppose adding them right before serving would overcome that.  The recipe in my cookbook calls for canned fruit, among them mandarin oranges which lends a little more color.  Also, since my recipe calls for miniature marshmallows, I suspect that miniature marshmallows weren’t yet on the market when we were given this recipe which calls for diced Marshmallows……I know we used scissors to cut them, rather than  “dicing” them.  Wouldn’t that be a sticky mess?  Nowadays, I use whipped topping rather than cream to make this.  I believe the 24 hour period helps to let the flavors blend.  When you serve it after the 24 hour period, there may be juices on the bottom but it’s still  good to eat.

24 Hour Salad

1 lb white grapes
1 can pineapple – diced
1/4 lb pecans (add before serving)
1/2 lb Marshmallows (diced)
1 pt whipped cream (stiffly whipped)
Juice of one lemon
1/3 cup pineapple juice
3 egg whites

Add lemon and pineapple juice to egg yolks.  Cook in double boiler stirring until thick.  When cool, add whipped cream — place in shallow pans and let stand 24 hours before serving.

Leave a Reply

