RSS Feed

Holiday Cookies

I must have been practicing penmanship.  Why else would I have hand-written the recipe that is in the clipping on the same page?…..oh, I had to improve the recipe…..apparently I thought oatmeal would be a better additive to the recipe than the raisins!  Well, if I were making these cookies I’d probably leave in the raisins and add a cup of oatmeal to the dough.  

Candied cherries certainly would have the little bit of change to qualify this as a holiday cookie and make it truly festive. Often candied fruit was only available during the holiday season and I remember Mom buying some candied orange peel.  She didn’t make fruitcake, but she would add it to her Christmas bread.  My young taste buds didn’t care for the bitter taste of candied orange peel or raisin bread, for that matter.  I definitely preferred boughten white bread at that time….now, I’m about the opposite of that!

 Holiday Cookies

2 cups sifted enriched flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup shortening
1 1/4 cups brown sugar
1 egg
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped candied cherries
1/2 cup chopped nuts

Sift together flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Cream together shortening and sugar and beat in egg.  Add flour mixture to creamed mixture alternately with milk and vanilla extract.  Blend in fruits and nuts. Drop by spoonfuls on greased baking sheet.  Bake in a 375-degree oven 12-15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

